Tag: RISC

SegaPi Zero Shows Game Gear Some Respect

The content below is taken from the original (SegaPi Zero Shows Game Gear Some Respect), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. If you were a gamer in 1991, you were presented with what seemed like an easy enough choice: you could get a Nintendo Game Boy, the […]

Understanding Floating Point Numbers

The content below is taken from the original (Understanding Floating Point Numbers), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. People learn in different ways, but sometimes the establishment fixates on explaining a concept in one way. If that’s not your way you might be out of luck. If […]

Where Can You Fly? Worldwide Drone Laws Mapped

The content below is taken from the original (Where Can You Fly? Worldwide Drone Laws Mapped), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. If you are a flier of a multirotor, or drone, you should be painfully aware of the regulations surrounding them wherever you live, as well […]

5 Super-Useful 3D Printable Tools

The content below is taken from the original (5 Super-Useful 3D Printable Tools), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Actually useful, everyday tools that you can print from any 3D printer. Read more on MAKE The post 5 Super-Useful 3D Printable Tools appeared first on Make: DIY Projects […]

Customizable PCB Business Card

The content below is taken from the original (Customizable PCB Business Card), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Customizable PCB Business Card [Corey Harding] designed his business card as a USB-connectable demonstration of his skill. If potential manager inserts the card in a USB drive, open a […]

Kaby Lake rugged box-PCs include Linux-ready beast with 9x GbE ports

The content below is taken from the original (Kaby Lake rugged box-PCs include Linux-ready beast with 9x GbE ports), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Aaeon unveiled two rugged embedded PCs that run Intel’s 6th or 7th Gen CPUs. The Linux-friendly “BOXER-6640M” stands out with 9x GbE […]

RISC OS software to download from !Store

The content below is taken from the original (RISC OS software to download from !Store), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. In previous articles, we looked at package managers and some of the software available on !PackMan. In this article we are going to highlight some of […]

London Calling: The Hackaday UK Unconference Roundup

The content below is taken from the original (London Calling: The Hackaday UK Unconference Roundup), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. A trip to London, for provincial Brits, is something of an undertaking from which you invariably emerge tired and slightly grimy following your encounter with the […]

3D Prints That Fold Themselves

The content below is taken from the original (3D Prints That Fold Themselves), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. 3D Prints That Fold Themselves 3D printing technologies have come a long way, not only in terms of machine construction and affordability but also in the availability of […]

Robot Graffiti

The content below is taken from the original (Robot Graffiti), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Robot Graffiti There’s talk of robots and AIs taking on jobs in many different industries. Depending on how much stock you place in that, it might still be fair to say […]

Linux-ready 3.5-inch SBC drives compact, fanless box-PC

The content below is taken from the original (Linux-ready 3.5-inch SBC drives compact, fanless box-PC), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Advantech announced an Intel Braswell based “PCM-9310” 3.5-inch SBC with triple display support, plus a 1U height “EPC-S101” embedded PC that runs on it. Advantech announced […]

Antenna Basics by Whiteboard

The content below is taken from the original (Antenna Basics by Whiteboard), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Antenna Basics by Whiteboard Like a lot of people, [Bruce] likes radio controlled (RC) vehicles. In fact, many people get started in electronics motivated by their interest in RC. […]

!DualHead in use

The content below is taken from the original (!DualHead in use), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. [Update] Please note that this review is based on version one of the software – an update was released this week which we will evaluate in a future article. Now […]

Bye Bye Solaris, it seems.

The content below is taken from the original (Bye Bye Solaris, it seems.), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. For readers of A Certain Age, this may bring a tear to the eye. Reports have been circulating of the decision by Oracle to lay off a significant […]

Raspberry Pi HAT spins up RFID and NFC

The content below is taken from the original (Raspberry Pi HAT spins up RFID and NFC), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Eccel’s rugged “Raspberry Pi-B1” Raspberry Pi HAT add-on provides an RFID B1 module for enabling short-range RFID or NFC communications at 13.56MHz. Eccel Technology, which […]

R-Comp release !DualHead

The content below is taken from the original (R-Comp release !DualHead), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. If you own a Titanium based machine you may have noticed that it has 2 video output ports. If you plug a monitor into the right port (as you look […]

Revisting the old Acorn magazines online

The content below is taken from the original (Revisting the old Acorn magazines online), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Over the years, a lot of high quality magazines have been produced. Most of these are no longer actively published but their back catalogue still contains interesting […]

Affordable Raspberry Pi 3D Body Scanner

The content below is taken from the original (Affordable Raspberry Pi 3D Body Scanner), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. With a £1000 grant from Santander, Poppy Mosbacher set out to build a full-body 3D body scanner with the intention of creating an affordable setup for makespaces […]

Multiple Monitors With Multiple Pis

The content below is taken from the original (Multiple Monitors With Multiple Pis), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. One of the most popular uses for the Raspberry Pi in a commercial setting is video walls, digital signage, and media players. Chances are, you’ve probably seen a display […]

Build a Raspberry Pi Scanner that Tracks the Devices Connected to Your Local Network

The content below is taken from the original (Build a Raspberry Pi Scanner that Tracks the Devices Connected to Your Local Network), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Make use of a Raspberry Pi to build a network scanner that will keep track of the hosts connecting […]

Under the Hood of AMD’s Threadripper

The content below is taken from the original (Under the Hood of AMD’s Threadripper), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Under the Hood of AMD’s Threadripper Although AMD has been losing market share to Intel over the past decade, they’ve recently started to pick up steam again […]

Rugged Skylake box PC offers up to 8x USB and 5x HDMI ports

The content below is taken from the original (Rugged Skylake box PC offers up to 8x USB and 5x HDMI ports), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Advantech’s Linux-ready “UNO-2484G” Box PC offers dual-core 6th Gen U-series CPUs, 4x GbE ports, and either HDMI/USB or “iDoor” expansion […]

Installing the new ROM release for your Titanium

The content below is taken from the original (Installing the new ROM release for your Titanium), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Elesar emailed all its clients and announced on the newsgroups that there was a new software update for the Titanium. In this article we will […]

Gigabyte jumps into SBC market with 3.5-inch Apollo Lake model

The content below is taken from the original (Gigabyte jumps into SBC market with 3.5-inch Apollo Lake model), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. Gigabyte’s “GA-SBCAP3350” SBC is equipped with a dual-core Celeron N3350, plus 2x GbE, SATA, and USB 3.1 ports, and HDMI, mSATA, and mini-PCIe. […]

The Acorn Archimedes At 30

The content below is taken from the original (The Acorn Archimedes At 30), to continue reading please visit the site. Remember to respect the Author & Copyright. The trouble with being an incidental witness to the start of something that later becomes world-changing is that at the time you are rarely aware of what you […]